A new home

June 20, 2011

I have been collecting all the ‘leftovers’ from my minihome since I started creating it three years ago. Every time furnitures are replaced in my real home, they have to leave the minihome too. It has been adding up to quite a few homeless miniature-things.

When we were visiting my parents at Samsø recently I found an old doll house at a flea marked. It’s now in our bookshelf homing all the necklaced furnitures I had lying around.

Really it’s a great thing that I have a baby girl you know; it takes the edge of the grown-up-woman-playing-with-toys-wackiness I have going on here…

Hi everyone :)

14 Responses to “A new home”

  1. Amanda Jane Says:

    Yay! I love it when you post about your mini home. :)


  2. Looks like a nice vintage Lundby house! And please don’t tell me that playing with minis is wacky! Because that means I am wacky!! ;)

  3. Jenny Says:

    I love the house! I recently found your blog and I can hardly stop looking at your mini’s! Your mini home has me in awe! Consider me wacky, I love anything mini. Having two daughters makes it seem quite normal ;)

  4. Marieke Says:

    Same here: two daughters and loving everything mini!

  5. Nell (Helen) Says:

    Love, Love, Love your blog Brinja
    Now, you’re gonna have to make a mini Lundby for the mini home…
    I have four Son’s so can’t palm my doll’s house obsession off on them when anyone sees my secret collection
    :)
    Nell x

  6. Dionne Says:

    Lovely!
    Your minihome is great,’evn though it’s mini :-)

  7. annamaria Says:

    I have three girls, twenty one, twenty and nine. I love the ‘girly’ connection with all of them-even it is at different levels! It’s always the best of fun-(maybe apart from the teenage years where mothers and daughters go into fighting mode…!)
    I adore all your miniature work- Please keep it coming!! There is so ‘much’ symbolism I think in having a miniature version of your life around- I won’t analyse too much because it might spoil it- but there is and it’s awesome!
    Have a good one!XX

  8. isabelle Says:

    your minihome is really stunning, something very special. but what about the small pieces of equipment? is that you who even fabric the bottles of wine etc.?

  9. cara Says:

    oh wow this is great! not wacky at all ;)

  10. brinja Says:

    Isabelle: Thanks. I found the small bottles of wine on a flea marked once :) I do make most of the things myself but there is a bit of cheating involved (I didn’t make the small plates either) :-)

  11. brinja Says:

    Annamaria: :-) i loved your comment -thank you!

  12. brinja Says:

    Nell: Hihi :-)

  13. brinja Says:

    Call of the Small: It’s silly how when I see other people doing these things I think it’s very cool and very fascinating -and when it’s my own work. It’s suddenly easy to find it a bit wacky :-)

  14. sigga Says:

    Fint


Leave a Reply

